Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
T@C - Martha's Trouble
2002-02-08 - In the afternoon

I'm skipping out on the wonderful "State of the Institute" address for NTID today. It's not that I don't care, it's just that, well, I don't care.

I should probably say something about our Tuesday @ The Clock concert series. We had a pretty good one this week with Martha's Trouble. Heck, any group from Ontario with a cool sound and doumbek and djiembe can't be all bad. I'd have to say that they sound a bit like Eddie From Ohio, sans one voice, and sans bassist Mike Clem.

I enjoyed the show, and so did a lot of other people. They brought CD's with them to sell. They sold more CD's than any other performer we had before.

On a pure whim, I asked my friend Becca (who was home on a short break) to go to Spot that night and see them. I gave them a CD with the pictures Jonesy and I had taken that afternoon. (Plus, it had a really cool label with the RITSMA logo on it.

Becca was impressed with the duo. We caught up on old times, plans for the future, her grammar stickler ways, and had good drinks. I gave their scarlet tea a shot. Wow, that was good stuff. Very fruity. (I like fruity teas. That is all you should take away from that.)

Rob from Martha's Trouble gave us a great idea. Spot doesn't do as many tuesday night gigs anymore... it could be the perfect opportunity for us to draw more good performers... Play at RIT at noon, promote your show, get interviewed on WITR that afternoon, promote your show, then go play at spot that night. Sounds like a good idea to me... now we just gotta do some footwork and hunt people down.

 

Hosted by Diaryland