Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
A hiatus with many entries
2002-06-14 - 2:30 PM

I am taking a small hiatus this week while I recover from the Clearwater Revival Festival. In the meantime though, I will be posting entries I wrote on my palm during my trip. This first one was written Friday. Enjoy!

Yesterday, I had the good fortune of winning tickets on WBER to see "Convenience" at Geva Theatre. Of course, I won these tickets at about 5:15, for an 8 PM show. So, instead of spending my evening packing up for the Clearwater Festival today, I spent my evening catching a show with my good friend Becca, who I managed to invite at 6:15.

Convenience holds the distinction of being a Rochester born and produced play. Not many playwrights are based out of Rochester. It debuted at Geva on it's "Nextstage" in 2000.

The musical itself is about mothers and sons. Well, one mother and son at least. Vince, the main character of the play and his mother Liz (?) have drifted apart from 17 years of stressful life after Vinces' father walked out on him when he was 6.

Of course, Vince and his mother have deep secrets that they haven't told each other yet. Vince is gay. Mom is falling in love again, and is going to get married again. They both need to drop their bombs in the open and exorcize the demons of the past.

I found the show to be moving, kinda like Hamlet, where Hamlet has a play performed for his mother and step-father that depicts the exact was Hamlet's step-father murdered Hamlet's father. In the same way, the play touched on my relationship with my own mother. Granted, we're not the bickering pair that Vince and Liz are but we just don't seem to always see eye to eye on everything.

I see that piece of me missing too. And it shouldn't be. And it makes me sad to see that.

 

Hosted by Diaryland