Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Saturday Ramblings
2002-06-22 - In the evening.

Today has been pretty fun.

I got off my butt, and hopped on my bike. Granted, it's a little warm today, but that's okay. It turned out to be a pretty good day for a bike ride.

I don't know if it's just me or what, but riding along a waterway (like the Erie Canal or the Genesee River) the air seems to be really stagnant around them. It felt terribly warm, or maybe it was just the sun shining down on me.

I rode out along the Erie Canal to Northfield Commons. Well, more correctly, I rode out to Bill Wahl's to get some ice cream. Strawberry shortcake. Yum. Complete with real bits of shortcake in it. It was so good, though I'm sure it wasn't good for me. Oh well.

I also got to see a lock in operation along the Erie Canal. It's boating season, and I've never seen one used before. For those of you unfamiliar with the system, locks are used to raise boats up and down over a height. It has two doors, one at each end. When a boat enters, the water level is at which ever side it entered from. the doors of the lock close behind it, and water is drained out to lower the boat, or drained in from the upper area to raise it. When the boat reaches its new elevation, the appropriate set of doors open up, and the boat goes along its merry own way.

I think it would be cool to take a cruise down the canal sometime. Maybe even take a week or two off and traverse the entire canal. That could be fun.

In other news, I sent off a few more resumes and cover letters for jobs. I really need to take some time this week and do follow ups on them. I also went to Office Despot on my way back to pick up a few things for the "home office" to help me out in my job search. Remind me that if I want to buy hanging file folder boxes, I should really drive down to pick them up rather than try to carry them home while riding my bike.

Tonight should be fun. I'm getting to see Joanna McNaney (insert obvious search term for people to keep finding my diary on Google with. Joanna! You need your own website!) As an added bonus, I just noticed that she is playing with Ember Swift, who one of my friends thinks is really cool (and who I'm making really jealous by getting to see :-D). She's so cool, in fact, that she asked Gella if she could share a tarp with us after her set at the Clearwater Festival.

This should be fun!

 

Hosted by Diaryland