Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Encyclopedia Brown and the case of the missing voicemail
2002-08-13 - In the afternoon

I know I've said this before, but... It is so hard to have to keep on writing cover letters about yourself over and over and over again. Granted, I think I have it down to a science, yet each one is majorly customized so it doesn't look like a form letter.

I'm pissed off a bit a Sprint PCS today. As you might know, the phone area code I live in was split. All of us living on the Rochester side are now in the 585 Area Code. Friday night, I tried to make a phone call, but got an error message telling me that "You are not authorized to conenct to this number." After getting that error message a few times, I gave Sprint PCS a call. They told me that I would need to reprogram my phone for the new number.

Great. Just what I wanted to do.

As an added bonus, this couldn't be done while I was on the phone with them. I had to drive my car down to Wegmans (closest pay phone I could think of), call them back on that phone and then go step by step through re-programming my phone. The first time I called, I got hung up on by the support technician. The second call, I got stuck with a moron who obviously was having trouble understanding what "I have a Sprint model Touchpoint 2200 handset" meant. "Is it blue?" "No, it's green" "Around the edges?" "No, all the way around." *grumble*

What should have been a 5 minute job turned into a 10 minute ordeal.

As it turns out, reprogramming my phone, and having my account changed on the other end leads to one more problem. Voicemail box. Voicemail boxes are tied to the phone number. When the area code on my phone number changed, so did my voicemail box. The real problem with this is that there was a very important message regarding a potential job in that voicemail box.

Gee, thanks technician.... thanks so much for telling me that I'd be losing my voicemail box when my phone number switched over.

Ok, I'm done venting. Now it's time to go write another cover letter about myself and send it off.

 

Hosted by Diaryland