Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Chenango
2002-09-07 - At night

So, about that Festival I went to today? I've got several notes...

Don't leave the map in your car, especially if you're going to be the navigator for the trip.

3 College students cannot be expected to be awake at 7:00 in the morning. Not a huge problem as we had to make a couple of stops on the way out, so it was just a minor change of plans.

Route 23 does NOT intersect with I-81 at Cortland.

Eric Schwartz is GREAT roadtripping music. So are The Arrogant Worms, Russell Wolff, and Eddie From Ohio.

You can show up much later to Chenango than you can to Falcon Ridge and still get a great seat. Be aware that you will be sitting in the sun all day long.

The Kennedys are energetic on stage, but that energy can only be transferred to the audience if they're close to the audience. A stage that is some 6' off the ground is a big wall to overcome. That's just the way it was, though it seemed a little strange having to have my head craned up so far. At least it's not sore or anything.

I converted 3 friends to fans of Da Vinci's Notebook. Wasn't hard, as they were laughing their asses off and loving every minute of it.

Hsu teased us by asking for "A little more Mike Ford in my monitor" during the pre-set sound check.

Request-o-Rama! First time I've been to a DVN show where they've done Request-o-Rama. Although Carey and Gordon have had the honor of seeing this, I haven't. Although I didn't get to request a song, there were some good choices made by the audience. (And some not so good ones.) First up, someone requested Sand In My Pants. Since it was their own song, they didn't have much trouble performing it, save for Hsu and Paul S. forgetting some of their lines. Then someone requested Eminem, which somehow got turned into Manah Manah. (Replace Manah Manah with Eminem). Eventually, Paul S. broke out into "Slim Shady", which ended up becoming "Dick Cheney", and ending with an abrupt heart attack by the Proxy VP. The third request came from a young child you requested the theme song to Scooby Doo.

Medley Request-o-Rama. DVN did a medley of requests, some Enrique Igleasis (sp?) song, Spiderman, and Silhouettes. Not a bad job considering I only knew one of the songs ;-)

Vance Gilbert. What can be said about that man? He is probably one of the most amazing singers I've EVER seen. His set was as always humorous, touching, and full of the wit that draws me to his shows. He says he isn't going to bother reading the classics anymore. He doesn't need to, he can touch the human spirit. He doesn't need Shakespeare to do it.

I picked up Vance Gilbert's new album today too. one thru fourteen. I also noticed that this is a release that isn't on Rounder Records. The cover is this beautiful image of Vance and a guitar in the background. And then I open the front cover and *aieee!* You need to go buy yourself a copy yourself and see for yourself. The CD has the recording of 3 tracks that I 've been waiting for a while. Waiting For Gilligan, Eliza Jane, and Why Are We So Cruel.

I'm amazed by the 12th track "Let Me Know", a spiritual song that vance close his set with. He didn't just close with it, he came out and sang it off mic. Absofreakinlutley amazing.

I'm sure there's more that can be said, but i think I've said enough for tonight.

 

Hosted by Diaryland