Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Malarky!
2003-01-07 - In The Morning

Some would say that I have give up all hop, and that I don't believe in anything anymore.

I say they're wrong.

I did laundry yesterday, and this is what I believe: "Nothing says lovin like putting on a pair of flannel pj's fresh out of the dryer."

I had fun with my usual Monday night group. It was especially good, because these were the people I was most worried about getting back to Rochester through the snow this past weekend. We went to Borders as usual, and played a "new-to-us" game called Malarky. Malarky is a Balderdash-like game where you are given an "imponderable" question, then have to give a bluff answer. One of the players is randomly given the correct answer. Each player then votes for the player who they think gave the correct answer. You get points for voting for the correct answer, and you get points for each person who votes for you (correct answer or not).

Here's a few sample questions.

Why are potato chips curved?

If three players were playing, answers may look like this:

  1. The potatoes are sliced so thinly that the chips "curl" when fried.
  2. To make dipping easier.
  3. The edges of a potato slice have less moisture than the middle, so they cook faster and begin to curl.

If you voted for the third answer, give yourself a point :-).

I seem to be a pretty good bluffer, earning quite a few points on drawing out bluffs. I didn't do quite as good a job in delivering correct answers and getting votes. (In later rounds, you might not vote for the person you think gave the correct answer because they have too many points).

We ended in three ties. Two people tied for first, two people tied for third, and two people tied for fifth.

Good game, good time.

 

Hosted by Diaryland