Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Car Dealerships make me laugh.
2003-07-20 - 1:22 a.m.

Thanks to a little help from a certain website, I feel like a more empowered person.

Today, I went shopping for a car. I'll keep the car dealership's name private until I have either reason to give a glowing recommendation (which I think might happen), or drag the dealership's name through the mud (which I don't think will happen because the person has treated me pretty fairly so far.)

I worry about this guy. He seems a little umm... illiterate. People misspell my last name from time to time. It happens. I don't apprecieate misspelling my first name. Norg is one of the few people I let slide on it... because he's cool, and he's doing it in jest.

But, anyway, onto the car. It's a Honda Civic Hybrid. Luckily, they had one on the lot, and I got to take a test drive. I knew more about the car than the salesman did. (Isn't he paid to know about his car?!?!) So, we took it for a test drive.

I'm going to have to learn how to drive this car. Just a little tap on the key is all that is required to start this car (The Civic Hybrid's engine stops when idle, so easy start is nessecary.) The panels light up in a shiny blue color, and I think they look cool. The car I was driving was an automatic, and I normally drive a standard. "Where's the clutch, damnit!" I thought more than once.

I was surprised by just how much of a view I had in the car. I felt like I had a view like I was looking out of a fishbowl.

Well, all things aside, I liked the way the car felt.

But, of course, after all that comes the "let's go inside" bit, and start negotiating. I'm nowhere near ready to buy yet, so that'll have to wait until another time.

One other advantage of the Honda Civic Hybrid is that everything is standard on the car. No futzing around with "packages" of ABS, airbags, remote keyless entry, etc... it all comes standard on the car. Unfortunatley, "accessories" do not. Things like floor mats, 6 disc CD changer, etc...

Well, to make a long story short, I can buy the "genuine honda accessories" from another dealer over the internet, ahve them shipped to me, install most of them myself, and have the CD player taken to Best Buy and installed for about $750. They were trying to ask for prices above MSRP (Major Suckers Retail Price) on every accessory, so I think we're going to be negotiating a base car, and I"m going to buy the accessories on-line and having them installed.

All in all, I think I'm coming close to buying a car. Go team me!

 

Hosted by Diaryland