Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Road Trip Weekend!
2003-09-05 - In The Morning

A review of the Martha's Trouble concert in Ithaca tonight.

But first, a word from our sponsors.

I'm kicking myself for not going to Ithaca. Damn. There is not an ugly woman in that town. Kids: Don't go to RIT. Go to Ithaca.

Yes, plenty of things for me to look at this evening. Sadly, all of them at the Lost Dog Cafe seemed to be taken... until this one girl walked in later during Martha's Troubles' set. I had just about mustered up my courage to go talk to her when another girl came in, bounded over to her and gave her a kiss. Not a kiss in the "peck-on-the-cheek-europen-greeting" sense, but a "oooh baby, am I ever happy to see you, you sexy thing" sense.

Yes, my thoughts were pretty much confirmed a few minutes later when I saw the two leaving hand in hand, off to do unspeakable things that a guy like me can only dream about seeing. (Hey, I never said this was a family friendly entry!)

Anyway, back to the venue. Cool venue. Restauraunt downstairs, lounge upstairs. Downstairs, I had an awesome spicy chicken sandwich. At a table near me, I knew I was in Ithaca when a waitress brought over a bowl of bread, and the first thing she was asked was "Is this vegan?"

Anyway, the chicken sandwich was very tasty, and I will have to remember that I should eat there the next time I'm down in Ithaca. After food, it was upstairs to the lounge for the show. The lounge itself makes a great little listening room, though the room was only populated by me, and a bunch of kids getting plastered on wine in the corner.

Martha's Trouble was good as ever. I got to talk to Jen before the show. She seemed happy to see me, a familiar face in the crowd. We caught up on our lives. (Yup. Still working my new job. Yup. They're still on tour.) Then she showed me what a tease she was during the soundcheck when she started singing Dave Carter & Tracy Grammer's "Gentle Soldier of My Soul", and then failed to play it in their real sets.

Things have changed around a little bit for the duo. Rob now sings some harmonies. Jen now plays the guitar once in a while. What's next? Cats and dogs sleeping together? But, it was cool, hearing the two do some of their new songs for the show. I hope you'll get a chance to hear them in concert.

Can I just mention again that there are apparently no ugly women in Ithaca? (There are no cats in America, and the streets are made of cheese!) Damn.

 

Hosted by Diaryland