Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Finished Arcanum! (Well, one way at least.)
2002-03-17 - Early in the morning

So, I just finished Arcanum. I gotta say, I was a little disappointed in the ending. It wasn't what I thought it would be, considering all the work I put into the game.

I enjoyed the plot of the game. I know it must have taken a lot of work to sequence the stuff together to give the player lots of room to choose their own destiny. The ending though, was a bit lacking.

I guess it's like one of those "choose your own adventure" books that I used to read. Sure, it was cool that you could pick your own path of reading the story.

"Do you give him the money? Yes, turn to page 48! No, turn to page 66!"

Of course, after having gone through a couple of paths, ou realize that you get beaten over the head and die on page 66.

That's kinda how the end to Arcanum goes.

One other thing that bothered me about the game was the lack of captioning to many of the video sequences and some of the dialogue. Granted, most of the dialogue appears on screen, but there's still a little bit that doesn't. And that makes me mad.

What about the deafies? Damnit, this is a great game, i just wish that deaf people could know what the voice overs are saying during the video sequences. We have these for TV, we have these for movies, DVD's often have them in different formats and languages... why not video games?

Thanks to my good friends at User Friendly, I found this petition here. Yes, it's a real petition, not some "Add your name to the end of this e-mail and forward it to all your friends!" type of fake petition.

Take a moment to sign it, mmmmkay?

 

Hosted by Diaryland