Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Anti-Canadian Music Conspiracy
2002-03-27 - In the AM

I believe that there is an Anti-Canadian Music Conspiracy afoot here in Rochester. You see, this February and March, two of my favorite artists (msuic groups, if you will) Sarah Slean and Great Big Sea were due to release new albums.

"Great!" one might say. However, it would only be "Great" if the albums were actually released.

Great Big Sea listed a February 26th release date in the US. Sarah Slean had a release date of March 19th listed. After weeks of waiting, and numerous phone calls to local stores, I finally found that Fantastic Records was *finally* carrying the Great Big Sea album Sea Of No Cares. I'm still trying to find Sarah Slean's Night Bugs in the US. Distribution shouldn't be a problem here, she just signed with Atlantic Records (warning: Link will resize your web browser to fit THEIR needs. Kind of expected from a RIAA member?)

My friends from Canada are holding it over my head that they have copies of Night Bugs and I don't, and it's pissing me off. HMV, one of Canada's largest CD retailers notes that the CD is currently #1 in it's on-line sales rank for the week. Great Big Sea's Sea of No Cares topped the Canadian charts (or so Great Big Sea claimed), but i can't find their damn records here!

My friends from Buffalo apparently had no trouble getting Sea Of No Cares on its canadian release date (which makes me believe it was an import then, but they swear it wasn't.)

*grumble* I hate it when record companies fuck things up.

Update: No sooner had I hit the submit button for this entry than my e-mail program went *beep*. Got this back from Sarah's management team:
Hi Paul - The March 19th release date was the Canadian release date. Unfortunately, there's no scheduled US release date at this point...

So, Sarah, when's the next time you're goign to be in Rochester? Or will I just have to find a good music store in Niagara Falls, Ontario or something?

 

Hosted by Diaryland