Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Chronichles of Stupid People, Part IX
2002-06-02 - In The Afternoon

Good afternoon, ladies and gentlemen, and welcome to another edition of "Chronicles of Stupid People"

Today's episode takes us into the wonderful world of combustion machinery (cars), and the stupid people that drive them.

Between yesterday and today, I saw a bunch of crap that would just make everyone pissed off. Among the minor offenses I saw, there were: Going straight in the left-turn lane. Turning right from the "go straight" lane, and stopping for a green arrow. The last one pissed me off the most, because the stupid shmuck was in front of me. He finally turned as the light changed to a yellow, leaving me stranded waiting for a column of cars so I could make my right on red.

The major offense to driving came yesterday as I was driving up 590 past the city. It was a "construction zone", except for the fact that all the construction signs were covered, all the "Work Zone: Speed Limit 45" signs were turned down, and there were no cones out (and no construction going on for that matter.)

I assumed 55 would be a safe speed, as 55 was the normal speed limit. Imagine my surprise as I heard the "bleep-bloop!" of a state trooper car that sounded like it came from the bridge above me. Even more surprised was the state trooper that I watched go speeding towards me with his lights flashing. *shit!* i thought as I contemplated what another speeding ticket would do to my insurance rates.

I pulled off to the side of the road and stopped my car. Imagine my shock when I saw the trooper pull away from behind me and go zooming down the road. I saw him pull off a little farther down the road on the opposite side with a bunch of other cars. Couldn't tell if it was an accident or what.

The real piece of cake came this afternoon at Wegmans. I was walking from my car to the entrance of the store when I was a car slowly starting to back out of a parking spot. He came to a stop when he saw a car coming down the row and allowed the car to pass. All of a sudden, with the passing car out of view of the driver, (partly thanks to where I was standing), the car that was passing slammed on its brakes, sped into reverse, and zoomed back to exactly right behind where the backing car was.

Of course, the driver of the car that was backing up didn't see this and re-started his exit. I thought I was going to be standing 5 feet away from a major car accident. Luckily the driver backing up saw the other car in time, and came toa quick stop. The other driver sped ahead and pulled into a parking spot, which had probably been its original destination.

By the power vested in me, by the State of New York, I declare today, June 2nd 2002 to be "Stupid Drivers On The Road Day".

 

Hosted by Diaryland