Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Corn Hill
2002-07-13 - In the evening

Ahh, perfect day. Perfect enough for me and nealy a quarter of a million of people from Rochester and the rest of the country descended on the Corn Hill Arts Festival. Perfect weather, sunny, bright, and not a hint of rain in the forecast. I walked the streets hoping that I would bump into a Goovie and a Neal there, but no such luck.

I walked around and took a look at all the different artists peddling their wares. I still maintain that 98% of all art is crap, but I admit that I saw some neat looking stuff.

Geva Theatre had a booth there, as well as the Blackfriars Theatre, and the Downstairs Cabaret Theatre had one as well. The Downstairs Cabaret Theatre even had singers out there, doing little performances on their improv stage.

I guess the draw of the festival is the food. New this year (or at least new to me) was the food court set up on the north end of the festival. Standard fare for a folk festival food court, but with a lot of local influences as well. The Beal Street Cafe, Wegmans, Red Osier, and a couple of other local places graced the court. I ended up getting a chicken wrap from one of the vendors, but it was kinda lean. I think I would have been more happy getting the pulled pork sandwich from the Beale Street Cafe.

Other vendors around the festival had foodstuffs too. I finally bought a jar of mustard, having sampled enough at numerous festivals. I chose the cajun-onion mustard from Nunda Mustard (NONE-day). I bet it's going to go great with pretzles. (Yes, I like to dip pretzles in various dips and sauces.)

Among the art items, I saw a photographer who happened to be from back home. He didn't have any pictures of anything that particularly reminded me of home (aside from the obligatory Niagara Falls shots), but he had some interesting food pictures (seems everything is revolving around food these days.) One series of pictures showed various foods in varying stages of being eaten... a whole cookie, then a half cooke, then a quarter cookie, then crumbs. Other sets had wine, cantaloupe, sunflower plants growing, rose blooms opening, and other cool things. Another group he had were with an old-fashioned meat grinder. In one end of the meat grinder, and out the other. One picture had ears of corn entering the grinder, and popcorn exiting. Another set had packs of carrot seeds going in, and full grown carrots spilling out the other. My personal favorite had a variety of hot peppers going in one end, and flames shooting out the other end. If I had more money, I would have one or more of those at home.

In all, I had a great day riding my bike out to the festival and riding it back home. Now if all the other days could be as perfect as today :-)

 

Hosted by Diaryland