Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Saturday Night Concerts.
2002-09-15 - In the afternoon

Went to the Water Street Music Hall for WBER's "Back To School" show with Danny Michel, Sarah Slean, some crappy band that I don't remember the nane of, and the Doves.

Fun fact of the night. The Waterstreet Music Hall has a companion club "The Club @ Waterstreet." We all started our line up at the doors for the music hall, but were informed that the entrance for the whole night would be at the club side. In what I believe was the smoothest transition ever made, the front of the line walked and led the way right into position at the doors of the club. No muss, no fuss, just a perfect reversal of the line.

Danny Michel (pronounced: muh-SHELL) led off the night. My friends were right... He is a great musician. He made extensive use of his guitar and a repeater (much like Christine Lavin uses.) I'd love to see him play again sometime.

After Danny, I met a person who works with RIT's College Activities Board. She confirmed that RIT's Student Government is putting on a concert with Sarah Slean and David Matheson next saturday, somewhere outside on the campus (probably on the greek lawn.)

The until-now-unnamed garage band (Monterey Jack, I think) played next on the main stage. I wasn't too thrilled. What I was thrilled about was seeing my friend Amy (and her husband Richard.) I haven't seen Amy in a really really long time, so it was good seeing her.

Sarah Slean was up next. Great concert. Gotta see her again next weekend. ;-) Although I liked her cover of "Bulletproof", I didn't like the other covers she did. She performed a new song, "California", none of her amazing keyboard, so she stood up and sang. I was impressed with it, and I look forward to hearing that song on her next record.

The Doves closed out the night on the main stage. Their show seemed choreographed from the start, complete with video screen in the background displaying imagery to match the music. I guess it's a british thing, because I wasn't too impressed with it. Doesn't seem like a group like that would be able to have any spontanaiety in it's concert. I had said that I didn't remember hearing of them before, but now I know that I've heard them before on WBER. Nothing much to write home about for them other than that the music was turned up loud. I couldn't stand in the main room. I've always believed that if a group has to turn up it's volume that loud then there isn't much backing them up in the music department. Again, must be a british thing I guess.

 

Hosted by Diaryland