Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Clearwater, Day 1
2004-07-08 - 1:23 p.m.

Clearwater, Day 1

Wow! A bright and sunny day! This is not the Clearwater I know!

After some crunchy-granola-yogurt-hippie food for breakfast, i was off to go visit with my friends, the interpreters. Santa Dave showed up not too long after I did, complete with a portfolio of photos from a shoot he did with American Greeting Cards. Be sure to check out their "Alternative Santa" pictures for 2004 this holiday season! (Shameless plug!)

I caught 3 of the early sets. Kris Delmhorst, Catie Curtis, and Gandalf Murphy & The Slambovian Circus of Dreams. Those were three great morning sets. "Young" Mark Erelli popped in on Catie's set.

After that, I took a nice lunch break and chowed down on a huge pile of ribbon fries. *yum*. I saw someone carrying a pile of them and my stomach said "WANT!". Gordon probably got some too. He was there, along with our friend Lisa.

After a bit of wandering around the juried craft vendors/exhibitors, I went back to the mainstage. Nerissa & Katryna Nields played, and it was pretty obvious (as she confirmed) that she's having another baby!

Dar Williams took the stage afterwards. There was this cute little guy who was "flirting" with my friend Jessica throughout the whole set. He loved playing with the cones and string that marked off the handicapped "access" area. More correctly, he loved knocking the string off the cones. Little did we know that the little boy was Dar's nephew... which meant that we were sitting... right next to Dar's family! Her parents were one tarp over from us. Kinda neat eh? Nerissa & Katryna came out to sing backups on "As Cool As I Am", They brought one more special guest up, Amelia Nields Chalfant. Woo hoo! (I've got pictures, but I think I'm going to save them and just send them straight to the band for their own keepsake treasure.)

The only downside to the absence of rain is that it was sunny all day. I don't think I had enough sunblock on. I got a nasty sunburn on my arms and legs that really needed to be taken care of. Thankfully, there's a grocery store near the park that had a nice topical anesthetic.

After getting back and getting my skin cooled off, Jess and I went over to the dance tent to par-tay with Entrain. I danced. I was sober, and I danced my ass off like there was nobody watching. :-D

I ended my night hanging out with my former cow orker Food Mike and a bunch of his friends, catching up on old times, and sharing 2 quarts of fresh local strawberries. I think there's no better way to end a night than by doing that.

 

Hosted by Diaryland