Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
*Big* update.
2001-11-08 - 10:44 p.m.

So, where was I...

Yeah, I got canned. Life sucks, you pick up your things and find work where you can.

That Friday, after the heart-wrenching Long Walk out the door, I went to the RIT Hockey Game. If there's anything that'll put me into good spirits, it's Tigers hockey. The corner crew was as loud and obnoxious as ever, and performed Spaz and my rendition "If You Can't Hit The Net Hit The Ref"

"If You Can't Hit The Net Hit The Ref" (To the tune of: If you're happy and you know it)
If you can't hit the net, hit the ref *clap* *clap*
If you can't hit the net, hit the ref *clap* *clap*
If you can't hit the ref, though he's blind dumb and deaf
If you can't hit the net, hit the ref *clap* *clap*

Note: I don't advocate violence against officials. I've been (and hope to return to being) a baseball umpire. I'm just recalling a game last season where an RIT player shot a puck far high above the glass at RIT's Ritter Arena. Above the glass is a fairly taut meshing to prevent the puck from flying out and smacking some poor freshman who is standing at the end of the rink to buy a drink at the snack bar. The puck was fired, hit the meshing, then sprung right back onto the ice and *just* whizzed over the referees' head. Spaz came up with the chorus, I tacked on the bridge line, and a new corner crew cheer was born.

*Saturday*

Saturday was the Jian Ghomeshi concert at Milestones. Sadly, not a whole lot of people were there, but in the positive category, the show became a sit down show. Tres cool.

Drea, my friend from Toronto came down early, and we went over to Spot Coffee for some food & drinks before the concert. Well, no surprise, Jian, the caffine addict himself walked over from Milestones to get himself some of the coffee nectar and he spotted us and we chatted for a few brief moments.

The show:

The show was opened by Martina Sorbara. She gets better and better every time I see her. She has a new contract with a record label, and seems to be going somewhere with her music.

Jian was as good as ever, and my good pal Tobey was there working merch & roadie-sound guy. The funniest moment of the concert had to be when Jian was playing, and broke a string on his guitar. He called for Tobey to come up to the stage... "Where's Tobey?" he asked. "He's out back making a phone call." someone replied. "Umm... okay.... well, maybe Martina could help me fix this?" Of course, Martina was nowhere to be found. So, Jian switched up to a keyboard song. After the song, Tobey showed up, got the guitar, and proceeded to do a little dance on the stage, much to the delight of all the crowd. Did I get a picture of it? Of course I did :-)

*Sunday*

Drea crashed at my place. We watched the Bills vs. Chargers game. Flutie vs. Johnson. Flutie's team won. *shoot* I got tickled.

Other than that, the following week was extremley busy with numerous things to do, including doing a reception for the RPO that friday, then having the most productive 3 days of my life, writing a big paper, and being assigned a 700 page specification, and doing a presentation on it 46 hours later.

Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep those nights.

And my sleep is still screwed up.

Civilization III is *so* addicitve.

*Breathes*

And now I'm all caught up :-)

 

Hosted by Diaryland