Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Chronicles of Techie weenie.
2002-02-20 - In the AM

(If you hadn't noticed, there's now this spiffy new guestbook thingie over there on the left side. If you ever feel like dropping me a line, feel free to do so!)

Today is Wednesday. It is the first day of the rest of the week. I don't know how I feel about that. Well, I do know how I feel about that, but, alas, I am stuck in the working world.

One of the people in my department is really pissing me off. I won't mention his name, but his initals are MJR. (Which should be more than enough to identify him if you really know my deaprtment, but, oh well.)

MJR is a tech geek. But, he works in counseling. (Go figure!) Mark wants to be on the cutting edge of technology. (And yet he's in counseling!!!!) It's all well and good, except that he is a leech with the department's budget and funds. He's upgraded his Mac G4 tower to OS X.1 already. Of course, upgrading a mac to OS X means an upgrade of everything else to OS X, like Office, and such.

So, now he wants me to order a copy of Microsoft Office for OS X... for "evaluationary purposes." Well, Office for OS X in an educational license costs about $179 (I e-mailed CDW and got a quote)

But, of course, MJR disagrees... "no! It's $56!!!" He forwards me an e-mail of another quote for MS Office for OS X. This one is for a 10 license pack. Granted, each individual copy costs $56, but the license comes as a 10 pack for $560. (plus $25 for the physical CD itself.)

"But you can get just one at that price!" MJR keeps whining to me in numerous phone calls that "SC (another co-worker, different department) said that PW (our contact at CDW) said that we can order just one copy of that at that price!"

Whatever. If he thinks that I'm going to call up the contact at CDW and say "MJR said that PW said that you said that....", he's smoking crack. I tell MJR that I want to hear this from SC's mouth first.

And anyways, what would we do with the other 9 licenses for Office for OS X? MJR: "We'll use them next year when we upgrade everybody to OS X!"

Mmmm hmmm... we're upgrading *everyone* to OS X..... my foot. We don't even have support people trained in OS X yet here at the school... and you think that I'm going to have a bunch of counselors, whose knowledge of computers in most cases couldn't even fill a few pages of a book upgrade their computers to the latest and greatest OS... have to replace all of their Netscape files, backup tons of crap just so you can get your jollies from saying that we've got the technology????

FUCK YOU MJR.

This doesn't even add in how much he's pissing me off over other things, like the new keyboard tray he wants... "Well, it has to either sit on the desk and hang down over the edge, or be mounted under the desk, and come up 5 inches from under the table.

Of course a *normal* keyboard tray just wouldn't be any good for him. Noooo.... Of course, he wants me to pick one out for him. Is he just that fucking lazy? He can't pick a keyboard tray out of a catalog or something??? All he needs to do is walk down to the staff assistants office over by where he works, ask her for the Staples catalog, and give me the number. Heck! He can even forward me a web page! I'd accept that!

And here's the kicker "Well, I want to get this done this week."

BAH! FUCK YOU ASSWIPE!

o/~ Well, MJR's a bitch, he's a big fat bitch, he's the biggest bitch in the whole whide world. He's a mean old bitch if there wver was a bitch, he's a bitch to all the whole wide world... o/~

At least I'm feeling better.

Tune in next time when intrepid Spaceman Spiff exacts revenge.

 

Hosted by Diaryland