Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Chronicles of Stupid People V, Karmic Balance is a bitch.
2002-03-19 - In the afternoon

Karmic Balance is a bitch. Yesterday was a really good day. Thus, today, something would have to be majorly foofed up. Well, it did. This brings me to the fifth entry in my Chronicles of Stupid People.

I am in counseling 7 hours a day... well, I work in counseling 7 hours a day. And we have these little booklets covering material on lots of different subjects. We buy them from a company called Channing Bete. In my work, I've had to place an order with them to restock booklets for our resource room.

Today, I got an e-mail from one of their staff members, requesting assistance with research for a new line of products they are developing. While I wouldn't care if this was sent to me, the problem I had was the way the message was addressed. The moron decided to put *everybody's* e-mail address in the To: section.

In plain english: she sent the e-mail address of all of their recent customers out to every single one of their recent customers. *groans*

Luckily, people have done the most obvious thing, not hitting "reply all". It pisses me off that people don't understand the difference between "Reply" and "Reply All". I haven't receieved any replies yet... (But it doesn't mean I won't get any.)

This is how spammers get e-mail addresses. Stupid forwards that have *everybody's* e-mail address in them.

Oh yeah... here's another. Vocational Rehabilitation accounts are becoming active at the Bookstore. So, someone sent an e-mail to a student telling them that their VR account had opened up. Well, they also managed to put the RITSTAFF mailing list address on there as well. *groans*

o/~ Everybody knows that the world is full of stupid people o/~

Update about an hour later: Moron from Channing-bete is back again. This time used Microsoft Outlook's Recall feature... to send a "Recall" message to every single person that she sent the e-mail to in the first place. Of course this e-mail has all of the addresses listed again. *bah*

1. "Recall" only works in Outlook, and then only within your company (in general). It doesn't work over the internet.
2. You can't unsend an e-mail.

She got a second e-mail. "Perhaps channing-bete should make a booklet about "Using E-mail correctly and effectivley." I told her that Barnes & Noble carries one: Outlook for Dummies.

Update: Just before going home, some 2 hours later. So, my e-mail is trickling to a crawl today. Know why? That moron from the bookstore sent out about 12 of those e-mails... to *all* of RITSTAFF. That prompted 2 replies to the RITSTAFF list, one from a person who didn't realize what was going on (but hit the reply all button anyways) to explain that she didn't know what was going on. The second was from an idiot over in CAST who had to say "And we really all needed to know this?", which was sent out to all of the RITSTAFF mailing list again. The clue meter is registering 0's across the board.

 

Hosted by Diaryland