Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Weekend update!
2002-04-14 - At night

This weekend, I went to see the Arrogant Worms in Fredonia.

Driving down was fun, until I hit the rest stop in Angold. My car started to amke a really loud annoying noise. (How fitting that the Arrogant Worms have a song called "Carfull of Pain")

I get to Fredonia, and put my car in for service. Luckily it's just a break in my exhaust pipe. Even better, it cost only $30 to fix. (Go figure! I was fearing a multi-hundred dollar cost.)

My friend Stephanie came out and took me around Fredonia a little bit while we were waiting for the car to get finished. Okay, there isn't a whole lot in Fredonia. We walked around the wal-mart, and saw Lake Erie... or at least a hundred feet of it, the fog was so thick.

The really nice thing about Fredonia is that there is a Mighty Taco there. Needless to say, my desire for Mighty Taco is satiated... for a few weeks :-)

The Arrogant Worms played that night at the 1891 Fredonia Opera House. A loveley little theatre. Beautiffuly restored. Acoustics left something to be desired, but I think that was the fault of trying to use too small a sound system for such a large area.

This was the first time I've seen the Arrogant Worms live in concert. I expected wild and zany, but I was blown away by these guys :-) Pulled out nearly every canadian reference (well, not *every* one of them... but just about). And since they were from *southern* Ontario, they knew plenty about Western New York. Except they thought that Cheektowaga was a strong Gaelic community. (It's Polish, you morons! ;-) But I had great fun. My friend complained that her jaw hurt from laughing so much!

Following the concert, I got to talk with fellow fruheads Chrissie K, Dan

Godwin, and his twin sister. We reminisced about frutrips long past.

Couldn't even remember all the wrods to Cross-Border shopping (the only other

song that we think we know of that has the wrod Cheektowaga in it.) Then me

and Chrissie had our pictures taken with the Worms :-) Fun fun :-) Methinks

they're going on my 12 Corners Coffeehouse recommendation list ;-)

Afterwards, we went to the Brown Bean Cafe, (which i think my friend Amy

referred me to. If not, consider yourself rewarded anyways :-) Had my first

cup of chai. I couldn't distinguish chai from spiced apple cider. Guess

that's why I never order it at Borders on Monday nights ;-)

I stayed at my friends' house in Jamestown, and had lunch/dinner with her

family on Suday before getting a tour of hilly Jamestown, and saw Chataqua

Lake (or what I could see of it between the fog and the rain.) That was fun.

Stopped at Mighty Taco one more time before hopping back on the thruway and

hauling ass back to Rochester to do laundry.

Good weekend. Good music, good friends, good fun :-)

 

Hosted by Diaryland