Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
The race
2002-04-22 - At night

I'm proud of myself. 3.5 miles today on the track. I need a new pair of sneakers, but really don't have the money to get them until I get my replacement debit card. (mostly because I don't feel like going to the bank right now.)

This afternoon sucked. It snowed. I froze my butt off. Last week, I was walking around in shorts... women were wearing skimpy clothing while tanning out on the athletic field lawns (I'm not complaining about that.) Today, it's freezing, and I felt like a cooped up chicken because the snow was coming down and it was a mess. I miss those 80 degree days we had last week. I feel worse for the trees that were already in bud... I'm sure that being subjected to these snows wouldn't be a good thing for their blooms and new leaves. Thanks mother nature, thanks for fscking up Earth Day.

At least it was free cone day at Ben & Jerry's. That was my treat reward for finishing the 3.5 miles on Friday. I did

it again today, and between walking and running, it took me about 41 minutes to complete the 3.5 mile course. I walked a quarter mile, then ran a mile, walked another quarter, ran a half, then walked, ran another half, walked a quarter, then ran the whole final half mile. All told, 22 minutes of running 2.5 miles, then about 19 minutes of walking the other mile. 41 minutes. I had guessed it would take me 45 to do the real Chase Corporate Challenge run, so I'm feeling pretty confident that I can leave that mark in the dust. (Never know though, because I'll have to negotiate wind and hills on the real course. But I can do it. I will do it. I am stronger than that. I will cross that finish line. There may not be any accolades for me at the end... hell, there probably won't even be an Adrienne waiting out there for this Rocky... but in my heart, I will know that I have done it. And that can't be taken away from me.

 

Hosted by Diaryland