Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
On fear and trepidation
2002-04-22 - In the Afternoon

The full list of Falcon Ridge Folk Festival performers has been posted. Quite a line up this year. Quite a bit different from last year too.

Most notably missing are some of my mainstays in folk music, Dar Williams, Vance Gilbert, The (full) Nields band (K&N will be there though), any member of Moxy Fruvous, and others. They will be missed, though I think both Camp Fruvous and the Dar Camp (Camp Dar?) will be there in spirit, if not in as great numbers.

But, added for this year are The Kennedys, DaVinci's Notebook, and a full set from Zoe Lewis, Eric Schwartz, and Trina Hamlin. I'm looking forward to seeing these ... new... people at the festival.

Then there's one addition that mildy worries me... Ani Difranco. Don't get me wrong, Ani is a talented musician, and certainly fits the bill for a folk festival. Falcon Ridge is almost like an old stomping ground for her. It's not her I'm worried about, it's her ummm... fans.

You see, last time she was there in 1999, Ani played. And the festival grew in size. From 12,000 to 20,000. Until her set was over. Writes fellow fruhead Colleen Campbell, "Most significantly, in terms of changing the caliber of the festival, was her entourage of young fans (all of whom seem to want to pierce/dye/tattoo themselves so they can be individualists, Just Like Ani), who have an unnerving and annoying tendency to scream at the end of every line she sings. Much as I'm Little Miss Propagandist for Falcon Ridge, I do worry that the presence of such a group --newbies who don't attempt to gauge and respect the general mood of the festival -- can ruin it."

I do know this means I have to get my ass up at 6 AM on Sunday to have any hope of even thinking about getting a good seat.

I fear this. I fear change. I fear Falcon Ridge being taken over by a bunch of teeny bopper disco queens. I come to Falcon Ridge for the music, for the feeling of being a part of something bigger than I am. I come to have my sould filled. It's a place I don't have to work. I can just relax and not have to worry about pressures, deadlines, or anything. With everything that has happened in the past year I just need to hear someone sing "Take me back, take me back, take me waaaay back." The hills are calling me. I just hope they can handle what is going to be thrown at them.

 

Hosted by Diaryland