Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Graduation night.
2002-05-28 - In the morning

And now, the story of Graduation Night. Read parts 1 and 2 for details about the graduation itself.

Saturday night rolls around, and of course, I'm not at any parties or anything, so I'm stuck at home, waiting for godot to come. My friend Jac IM's me at about 11 PM and wants to go to Jay's diner for a late bite to eat. Having nothing better to do on a Saturday night, I agree, and a few minutes later I am at Jay's diner, enjoying conversation over cheesecake.

I got a good laugh out of Jac's line "god! what will they think of me?", as she noted that I was the 4th different guy to be there with her at Jay's that week. She got her favorite waitress there too.

Cheesecake was good, but it put Jac in a mood for strawberries. So, we headed in her car over to Weggies for some strawberries, and a little late night grovery shopping.

We walk around the store, grabbing what we need, and then check out. It's about 12:30 at this time, not terribly late, because it was just very early sunday morning.

On our way out of the store, Jac realizes that the key to her car is missing. *ut oh* Did I mention that an ominous major storm was passing through, at it was raining heavily at the time? Yeah, suck. So, we go outside and start looking around her car to see if the key had fallen off her key ring and onto the ground.

No such luck.

We search the store. Again, no luck. *sigh*

We call AAA, and then sit and wait for them to show up. Luckily, it wasn't too cold out there, so we pulled chairs off the display outside the front of the store, plopped down in the entrance way to the store and waited for the locksmith to show up.

It took about an hour and a half to get the locksmith, who went right away into making a new key for Jac's car. Too kim until nearly 3 AM, but ended up with a new key. Although the key opened the door, it wouldn't start the car. *sigh*, so, AAA was called and sent a tow truck over. The guy operating the tow truck decided to be really smart and take one last look for the key. He opened the door, then looked under the seat, and there was no key. Then he looked between the door and the seat and *boom* there was the key stuck between the door and the seat. Yes, the real key had been found.

In the mean time, I had gone back into the store to pick up a couple of items that I needed. I got a can of WD-40 to treat my ailing drivers side door lock, and a new coiling key ring, to help Jac from losing her keys again. I couldn't find the key rings initially, so I had one of the store employees (who was well aware of our perdicament). She showed me where they were and told me "Are you sure you want to get this for her? She might kick your ass." "She'll kick my ass anyway. I might as well get a good laugh while I'm going out."

I showed her the can of WD-40 saying "loosen up, jac. Here, have this key ring." "Thanks Paul! I don't know whether to laugh or be offended!"

Oh well. I got into bed about 3:45 that morning. I will never take late night grocery store shopping lightly again.

 

Hosted by Diaryland