Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Highway, Sunday 7:30 PM
2002-06-14 - 7:30 PM

for me, the festival has ended, but its memory will live on in my heart. I'm riding home with Dave, and probably will get to Rochester sometime around 1 am.

How can you ever forget Lucy Kaplansky's set? I don't think I will. It's not so memorable because of her wonderful music, but because of the weather. As Lucy took the stage, the sky began to darken and the winds began to blow. I felt a raindrop upon my head. "Uh oh" were the words I thought as I looked over at Gella whose eyes had the same look in them.

"Incoming!!!" I yelled, knowing what was to come next. I quickly began to throw my stuff into my backpack and pull my raingear on. No sooner had I done that then the downpour came. What a mess. Jody Gill, the ASL interpreter, had to switch sides of the stage because the rain began blowing in from the side of the canopy. Lucy skipped her next planned song and went for George Harrison's "Here Comes The Sun". Didn't work, but the sun eventually came back right after Lucy singing "Turn The Lights Back On". "You turned the sun back on!" Gella yelled. "That's why I like my audience. They're always smarter and wittier than I am." - Lucy Kaplansky

I took a walk over to see Natalie Merchant's set on the Rainbow Stage. I got there at the end of Richie Haves' set. Wow, that was fun. The man can jam, on a "Vance Gilbert" scale of jamming. I wish I had seen his entire set.

Natalie's set was great. Having never seen her live before, I didn't konw quite what to expect other than a packed crowd. Surprisingly, a tarp went completley empty right next to me for nearly the entire set. Thank you to Gordon for giving me tarp space. She sang a few songs that I remembered, including "Carnival", and a bunch that I didn't recognize. She was pretty good.

That's all.

 

Hosted by Diaryland