Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Recap 'o my day
2002-06-23 - In the evening

Okay. Golf isn't as fun to watch as it is to play. I got a 5 hour lesson in the importance of proper summer activities. Today's tournament has taught me: In 85-90 degree weather, you need twice as much water as you think you do. You will know the parts of your body that you forgot to put sunblock on. And they will remind you about them for the next 5 days.

I got up butt ass early after last nights' concert. I drove my car out for some morning food, then drove off to the Marketplace Mall to leave my car and catch the shuttle out to Locust Hill Country Club (yes, I guess this makes me an elitist bastard now.) The nice Expo "tent" was air conditioned, and they had all sorts of cool stuff on display from different sponsors (many of them food and beverage vendors, thanks to Wegmans sponsorship of the event. I even got to take home a box of crackers and a package of portion-controlled lite cream cheese packets. *yum*

I plopped my butt down on the 9th hole. It is a short par 3 hole, one of the two holes to yield a hole in one this week. I figured this would be a great chance to watch the pros take some target practice. It was pretty uneventful all day, except for the fact that most of the later pairs (the people who had better scores coming into the start of the day) did not fare as well as the people who went earlier in the day.

It turned out that the 9th hole was the major turning hole of the whole kit and kaboodle. Mi Hyun Kim, who had a 5 stroke lead coming into the day, bogeyed the 9th hole, while Karrie Webb shot a birdie on that hole, and picked up 2 of the 4 strokes that she was down at that point. Karrie Webb would later go on to win the tournament after Mi Hyun Kim missed a putt on the last hole to force a playoff.

So, now that parts of me are crispy "I look and feel like a boiled lobster", says the away message of one of my friends, I am going to go out and see "Ice Age at Movies 10 tonight with my friends and hopefully chill out.

 

Hosted by Diaryland