Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Catching up
2002-06-29 - In the morning

I had been meaning to write this entry a litte while ago, but a bout of depression set in and things were a little hard to write about for some time.

Thursday night was a good night. I went to the Mercury Star Lounge to see Joanna McNaney and Gregory Paul.

Let me start off by saying the the Mercury Star Lounge is in the same place that the Red Social Lounge used to be, 171 St. Paul St. Other than that though, I knew nothing of the club, namely what time the doors were opening, and how much a cover charge there was or anything. So, I tried looking around the web a bit for a phone number for the club but I couldn't find one. There was a review of the place in the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle, but the phone number given for the club seemed to be attaced to a passworded voice mail box system. The second number I tried got a "this number has been disconnected." *foof*. I put in a call to WBER to see if they might have the number. Nope, no phone number there.

I finally remember that there is an obscure nightlife magazine here in Rochester that has a website and a venue/club directory for Rochester on it. *they* have the phone number. (By the way, the phone number for Mercury is 232-6970).

My second problem that evening was actually trying to find the club. I knew relativley where Mercury was, I just didn't know how to get there. St. Paul is a one way street. Unfortunatley, the only cross street I really knew of was Andrews(?) St, which is on the wrong side of the one way from Mercury. *damn*

I'm stuck driving all over the St. Paul quarter trying to figure out how to get back on to the little section of St. Paul by the river. Eventually, I say "screw it", and find a parking spot on a bridge over the Genesee.

I walked the (relativley) short distance to the club, noting that there was a restauraunt right on the corner that looked good (I might have to go back there sometime and take a look at it.)

I walked in, got carded (damn, why can't I look like I'm 25 instead of 21?). As a bonus, I didn't get charged a cover (was supposed to be $3), so I plunked down a couple of bucks for some dart playing (man am I bad).

To say that there was a small crowd there was an overstatement. In fact, by 9:30, the only people there were Joanna McNaney, her friend Tim, and a couple of other chycks (yes chycks spelled with a y.) who were Firends of Joanna.

The music was good. I finally got to hear the line I've always wanted a guitarist to use. "Uh oh... what's this? I seem to have broken my G-string. Does anyone have a G-string that I can use?" Oh, to have been wearing a thong. ;-D

Gregory Paul played that night too. Greg still rocks in my book, even if there wasn't much of a crowd there besides me, his manager, a couple of friends of his bassist, and 3 really drunk guys.

Damn, we need to support our local musicians better than that.

 

Hosted by Diaryland