Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Happy Fourth, Belated
2002-07-05 - Early in the AM

Happy Birthday, USA. A little belated, but I was out celebrating it with my friends instead of sitting here writing about it.

I spent the evening of the fourth down on Canadaigua Lake, mainly to see my friend Ryan playing with his band. The music was kinda country,s o I didn't really care too much for it, but I had a good time being out there with a bunch of my friends. There were some fireworks after the concert too, launched over the lake... quite a sight.

I'd like to write a big diatribe about how our country is going to heck in a handbasket over some of these draconian laaws that have been pushed through in the past year, but I won't. Instead, I will present this link, to a story about so called "green roofs" being added to buildings in major cities. The main idea of these is to absorb heat, keep the building cooler, and reduce heating and cooling energy costs. This is a pretty neat idea. Now, tack on top of that the idea of having a vegetable garden on top of the building... producing homegrown foods to help combat hunger a little bit. Hmmm... killing off two birds with one stone. Think globally, act locally, Gandhi would be proud.

 

Hosted by Diaryland