Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Weekly Wrapup
2002-08-16 - In the morning

Since there is no Friday Five this week, I'll be using the Livejournal "Weekly Wrap-up" instead.

1. Do you consider yourself an outdoors person? Why or why not? What do you enjoy/dislike the most about being outside? I don't know if I'm all that much of an outdoors person. Face it, I'm a computer geek. I spend my time indoors in front of a computer. But, by the same token, I'm also a folkie, which means I spend good long stretches of my time outside in front of a stage. I feel torn trying to choose just one.

2. What size community do you live in? Do you think that the degree of urbanization influences your enjoyment of the outdoors? Is that influence negative or positive? Please explain. Is it difficult for you to enjoy the outdoors because of the population or sprawl of your community? Well, Brighton/Henrietta is about as much sprwal as you can get without it being overpowering (When I say overpowering, I mean something like Greece, NY where the main drag is an endless stream of strip malls.) I live 5 minutes away from Genesee Valley Park. I think that influences my community more than anything else, other than the fact that most of the land around me is a swamp.

3. What is your favorite warm-weather outdoor activity? Why? What is your favorite cold-weather outdoor activity? Why? I *heart* going out on bike rides. I just wish more people would go out with me on them. As for cold weather, there's little that beats cold weather cabin camping. In Rochester though, I'd have to say the favorite wintertime activity is "how fast can you get from your car into the building you're headed to?"

4. Have you ever been camping? If so, share a memory. What is your idea of "roughing it"? Have I ever been camping? Ha! The card in my wallet doesn't say "Eagle Scout" for nothing. I *heart* camping. Boy Scout summer camping, weekend camping, and yes, of course, Falcon Ridge Camping. "Roughing it" is packing what you need on your back and getting lost in the woods for a few days.

5. Where is your favorite wilderness and/or natural scenic location? What makes it special for you? How far do you have to travel to reach your favorite spot? I don't know, but the view from the top of the hill on Thursday night at Falcon Ridge can be just beautiful, especially this year. There's also something to be said for the view from the bottom of the hill, listening to great music, and looking out over the rolling hills, seeing the sun, and the trees, and the low clouds, and an occasional wisp of smoke. It is beautiful.

 

Hosted by Diaryland