Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Invisible man
2002-08-19 - In the evening.

Okay, so I'm not leaving the old job as soon as I thought I would have. I've been asked to stay on for a little while longer. It's nice and all, and yeah, I can use the money.

It's interesting training the person I am going to be replacing. First day today. We accomplished quite a bit. She is a definite brain. She's a great match for what we were looking for in the department. "You picked a winner" was said to my boss more than once today.

At the same time, it felt so weird. My replacement had been a temporary hire in the word processing department, and she already knew a bunch of the people who were working there. "Congratulations!" they would call out to her, often quite oblivious that the one being replaced was me.

Worse, only one person even remembered that it was my position she was taking. (And I thank you for apologizing to me, Ellie.)

Was I that transparent? Was my contibutions to the department that unnoticed? Did I just take up space?

o/~ Mr. Cellophane... 'cause you can walk right by me... see right through me... and never know I'm there. o/~

 

Hosted by Diaryland