Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Pauli Uncertainty Principle
2002-08-26 - Just about 5 PM

What a day it has been. Got in this morning to work for another day of training and co-responsibilities with my replacement. We accomplished a lot of stuff today, created the department yearly calendar, reserved rooms for department readings, changed settings on the mac (she hates mac!) to make things more visible for her. (Her eyesight is worse than mine.)

It's a weird feeling in the pit of my stomach. On one hand, I know I have to let her be her own person. On the other hand, I know that i have to prepare her for arduous tasks ahead, like Fall quarter, and the end of the budget year reports. I should let her organize her own office, but I also have to tell her what is really important for her to save. It feels like my space is being inbvaded, but I know that my name is on the door on a flimsy piece of paper that can be pulled off and tossed aside. (Hence the "temp" job.) I know she's going to do just fine... but...

I feel doubly scared... scared of the uncertainty of my future, and scared of the responsibility that I'm not certain she is going to face.

I'd like to say I left this office in better shape than I found it, but I don't even know if I'm accomplishing that.

 

Hosted by Diaryland