Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Cake, Food for thought.
2002-09-04 - In the wee hours

We Are building a religion
we are building it bigger
We are widening the corridors and adding more lanes

-- Cake, "Comfort Eagle"

I think I'm starting to feel the point of this. Tonight, I went to Digital Rochester. It's sort of a social event/networking event for techies. Well, being an out of a job techie, I thought that it would be a perfect opportunity for me to netowrk, possibly get some inside info on jobs here.

Boy, was I wrong.

Sure, there were plenty of people there. A couple of CEO's, a couple of people I knew around the area that were working in tech jobs. But there were alot of people there who didn't have a job.

I saw a bunch of people that I did know. Only one of them was gainfully employed. Wow, what a pisser. Friends from the good old Software AG days. Lots of people had listed on their name tags: "Company: Not Company X Anymore"... and those of you there know what company that was. I was going to get cute and write on mine: "Company: I don't have one. Can I have yours?" I settled for: "Company: Your Company Here"

It is ugly. We are building a religion. We are building it bigger. We are building the illusion that there's going to be some magical rebuilding of our city. We are widening the corridors and adding more lanes and pathways for people to get lost down on.

Are we fooling ourselves?

 

Hosted by Diaryland