Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
I didn't get taken!
2002-09-19 - In the afternoon

I was about to respond to an ad in the paper when I started to do some digging on the company. You see, this company had some rather unusual requests for applying. They wanted a personal letter of why you want the job, what makes you qualified, etc., beyond the scope of a normal cover letter. Even was complete with a 1-800 number to call and get instructions for sending in the information.

I called the number and got the name of the person from the recording, it was for "Mark Colosi", a "successful author and television marketer", or somesuch. A simple Google search yielded this first result, yes, a press release from the Federal Trade Commission over a company that used high-pressure sales tactics, and was subsuquently fined $22,000 for these violations. He also gave the name of the company, "Mustang Marketing". A google search for this + "Rochester" yielded a discussion on a bulletin board where I saw this message. When parts of it say things like "This kind of TV advertising sure gives a negative image to home-based businesses and marketing on the internet.", it's probably a good idea to stay away.

One part of the recorded message talks about their causual work environment, how they wear shorts and tennis shoes to work. I think I know why. With a Better Business Bureau report like this one the shorts and tennis shoes are probably there for outrunning the feds when they come to bust this scheme.

In other news, I did get a rejection from another company. Rejection happens, and I'm not going to get upset over this one. It's really the company's own fault for putting incorrect requirements down in their ad. They wanted a Java Servlet programmer, but instead advertised for "Java/UNIX exp." Yes, there is a big difference between the two.

At least the guy complimented me on my website. "I like your website. Nice clean design." Too bad they're not hiring web designers. :-p

 

Hosted by Diaryland