Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Malcom solves his problems with a chainsaw.
2002-09-24 - In the afternoon

Sorry I haven't updated much lateley, I've been a.. ummm... little busy? Being unemployed has it's advantages and disadvantages. You get to spend a little more time doing the things you want. "Think of it this way, you didn't get laid off, you got time off to get laid.

Only a couple of interesting things to report happening. A few days ago, (Sunday, I believe), I received a "late payment" notice from my apartment complex. You see, I recently signed a lease renewal form. The lease renewal form had a major flaw, the "new rent" section was left blank. (Clerical error, as it was later explained to me. Negligence on the part of a former employee, I think.) They tried to increase my rent by $10.00/month. Unfortunatley for them, I already signed the lease agreement, because there was another clause in the lease form. "ALl other terms of the original lease remain the same".

They were a little terse with me yesterday, so I went out on the net and did some research. A couple of helpful websites pointed out to me some legal recourse I had.

I went back to the office today and insited that my rent was at the lower price of the previous lease. Wiseley, they agreed, as I'm sure she could see the legal pad of information that I had with me there. Essentially, going to court would have resulted in (1) a judge deciding what my rent should be, (2) could have subject them to a fine of the damages + $50 + my legal fees (and theirs), it was far smarter to reduce my rent by $120.00 for the year than take it to small claims court. (I won't even add the fact that they went back and wrote in the "new" amount on the copy of the lease form I signed and returned to them. That would be altering a contract, and trying to enforce it, which could be construed as fraud, and then they would have been smacked with trebele damages, which would have been 3x the statuatory damages.)

Now with that solved, back to my game.

Oh. I still need a job.

 

Hosted by Diaryland