Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
What a day it has been
2003-02-01 - Past Midnight

Well, that was an interesting night. I actually sat down and watched a whole RIT Players show, for the first time since about, oh, 2000? Something like that.

It's not that I didn't usually watch them, I was usually involved in them in some way, either as a stage hand or as a house manager, or something along those lines. It was so strange to look through the program of thw show and see so few people that I recognized. I thouroughly enjoyed the production of Tom Stoppard's Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead

There was an interesting note from the director in the program. "Humans are thinking beings, and their only hope for advancement is reaping intellectual property." Ironic, it seems, how much value we place on intellectual property. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead is based on 2 characters from Shakespeare's Hamlet. In today's terms, Stoppard would never have been able to write R&GAD because of copyright laws. Sadly, the Supreme Court decided (by a 7-2 margin) that Congress did have the authority to retroactivley extend copyright terms (namely the 1998 Copyright Term Extention Act, or the "Mickey Mouse Copright Term Extention Act"). Shakespeare's works, luckily, are in the public domain, the place where all things go when their copyright term expires. Unfortunatley, we are likeley to never see another copyright expire in the US again. We have to wait until 2018 for 1928 creations to come into the public domain, barring congressional interference, like, extending the terms again

In other news, I drove a friend to an interview in Baldwinsville today. It was a good drive over, clear roads, warm temperature, everything you could want in a drive. Okay, my friend borrowing another friend's copy of Chris & Meredith Thompson's disc Clearwater, and putting "Tanglewood Tree" on repeat/loop doesn't hurt matters much either. :-)

While she was interviewing, I went off into town (Clay, or Liverpool as it were) and went to Wegmans' for lunch. I got a couple of slices of pizza, and sat down to eat. In the booth next to me was a young boy and his mother, out shopping for the day. He seemed to have his favorites, loudly instructing his mother to get him "Chicken, noodles, and little trees and little corn" from the Wokery. (Mind you, she was at the buffet table halfway across the cafe. One of the people sitting in another booth said "you should get a fortune cookie too!"

Next thing you know, "Mom! Get me a fortune cookie too!"

He was cute.

And that made everyone in the cafe smile.

And made my day.

 

Hosted by Diaryland