Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
TMBG Poetry
2003-03-24 - Late at night

The local Borders has decided to temporarily cut their Monday night hours. This normally wouldn't piss me off, but I have a game group that normally gets together on Monday nights from 9-11 PM. Now that they close at 10 PM, it really sucks.

But, all things considered, I guess it's better that I got home instead. My friend ^kat^ has a little radio show called The Eclectic Cafe (on WYB-C-is for cookie. 1340 AM, New Haven, CT.) Tonight, she was giving away a pair of They Might Be Giants tickets. But, to win them, you had to make a poem containing at least 5 titles of They Might Be Giants songs.

I didn't win the tickets, but I did get to catch up on times with ^kat^, and read my poem to her. SHe got a good laugh out of it, and I hope you do too. Be forewarned, it's sort of a rip off of Edgar Allan Poe's The Raven, and I wrote it in about 10 minutes.

TMBG title songs are underlined

As I sit here all alone all by myself,
I hear 32 footsteps at the door.
Number Three on Penny Lane
Just the wind, I thought
Only this, and Nothing more.

It was Particle Man
and fifteen friends
They got lost
Made a wrong turn in Istanbul, (Not Constantinople)
32 footsteps at my door
Number Three on Penny Lane
Particle Man and fifteen more,
Only them, and nothing more.

"We're the replacements",
said Particle Man,
"We're sick of waiting for The Day
That Moxy Fr�vous returns to stay
We'll shave our hair,
We'll take their places,
Just like an episode of Trading Spaces
And right here is where we have the beginning and the end of the tour.

Number Three on Penny Lane
Particle Man and fifteen friends,
And a bunch of screaming fruheads
Crashing on my living room floor.

I guess they'll stay,
Forever more.

 

Hosted by Diaryland