Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Road Pizza!
2003-07-15 - In The Morning

So yeah, I did the trip thing last weekend. Went to see Weird Al down in Poughkeepsie. What I didn't write about so much was the drive down there.

I-90 is really a beautiful road to drive on. When I was driving, there was hardly any congestion, save for the occasional construction zone.

I-87 was a little bit worse. True, it was closer to 5 PM when I was on I-87, but still, people drive like total idiots on I-87. I mean, why do people drive in the passing lane if they're not passing? I'll admit to passing on the right twice driving down there, but still...

I think the driving got progressivley worse as the Interstate numbers declined. I was nearly killed there when a tractor-trailer cut right across my nose to reach the exit lane (came across from the left lane no less.) As he cut across, a minivan that was in the entrance/exit lane had to swerve onto the far right shoulder to get out of the way of the truck. Unfortunatley, instead of just taking the exit and getting back on, the mini van decided to try to make it back to the road, which meant moving back to the left, directly towards my car. I had to floor the gas and straddle the two lanes to avoid being hit. It's a good thing that the SUV that had come up on my left was also paying attention to the road, or I would have been a road pizza for sure.

I'm glad I took that defensive driving course.

 

Hosted by Diaryland