Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
The Gym
2004-01-29 - In The Wee Hours

Tonight's post is about the fear of human inadequacy.

And now for the inspirational musical lyrics.

This isn't a song about boobs. Not really. The boobs are just a set of metaphors to symbolize everyone's fear of human inadequacy. Hey! We've all felt the pain of being dissed by one fairy or another, so during the next refrain I want you to join in with your own fairy that never paid a call. Maybe it's the height fairy or the butt nymph. Men, maybe it's the pectoral or hair fairy or maybe some other fairy you just want to mumble about. Look, nobody's going to ask you to enunciate. Deirdre Flint - The Boob Fairy

I'm trying to make myself a better person. Inside and out. I've been going to the gym. Seriously! *flexes his muscles* See? Beefcake!

I realize that the gym isn't my world, and never really was. Sure, I played football, and I was a wrestler, but I was a backup lineman at best, and a good technique wrestler who lacked raw strength at times.

But such is life.

As I said, I was at the gym the other day. After I finished my run on the treadmill, I went into the weight room. My normal first machine is a Gravitron-style machine for doing bar dips and chin ups with helper weights (for thos of us who are scrawny girly-men and can't lift our whole weight enough times to make a useful set.) Right now, I've been using 60 pounds of assist and should be decreasing that to 45 hopefully in the next couple of months.

Sadly, the machine was taken. I waited. The guy who was using the machine was not only not using the assist, he had a weight belt and chain on and had a 45 pound dumbell dangling down from his waist.

Damn.

Talk about human inadequacy.

Made me feel like a fool... especially since after he was done, I lumbered over, flipped up the assist pad and did my workout.

*sigh*

Yeah, it got done. Without the usual mirth and joy that I feel when I'm done with it.

Now I need a massage. Any takers?

 

Hosted by Diaryland