Someone Somewhere
Last Time Out . In The Past . Back To The Future
Diary Rings
< Fruheads! ? >
< DVNFans! ? >
Sign My Guestbook
I want to know what you think!
Voices on the Verge (of freezing their butts off in Rochester)
2002-03-22 - In the AM

o/~ Oh what a night... o/~

Since there were no winners of the Lyric Contest (though both entrants were close), the $1 million prize goes back into my bank account. *lol*

By pure luck Tuesday night, I heard a sponsorship message on WBER saying that Voices on the Verge would be playing at the Club at Waterstreet on Thursday. I cancelled my plans for this concert (Sorry, Man).

After leaving work at 4:30, i stoped at home to pick up some much needed concert supplies (aka camera, group's CD for possible autographs, etc.) 6:00 take off, with a stop at Pellegrino's for dinner. I got to the area *really* early. (Like, an hour before the show.) I didn't realize that *doors* would be at 8, so I pulled out my cell phone, and called my mom and dad and spoke to them a while.

At about 7:15 people started arriving. Granted, I had a great parking spot, and people were freezing, so they were invited to come into my car. The wind was howling around it, but the joyful (and, well, not so joyful) sounds of WBER playing on my radio to counter the wind.

Eventually, we all went in when the doors were opened (early, thankfully), by the nice manager who didn't want to see his customers freeze their butts off.

I was expecting Mark Erelli to open the show, but, alas, no luck. Ended up being some local who opened the show. He sucked. I won't put his name here to protect his identity.

This was my first trip to the Club at Waterstreet. I had been to the place once before back when it was the Pirhana nightclub. It was a big change. There were lots of concert bill posters hung around the room, advertising for the place back when it used to be "The Boogie Bar", and some other western music based bar. (Glad I wasn't around for that). There were tables and chairs out for the concert (which was nice, since I didn't want to stand up for that show anyways.

Voices on the Verge - Beth Amsel, Erin McKeown, Jess Klein, and Rose Polenzani make up Voices on the Verge. Each great folk singers in their own right, but put together are an amazing combination of singer/songwriters. They perform their own songs and do backups on each other's songs. "I like to think of it as trying on each other's clothes." - Erin McKewon.

It wasn't a huge crowd, the show wasn't really filled up, which wasn't terrible... i like the smaller more intimate settings anyways.

Jess Klein sang a song called "O Rochester" (to the tune of O Tannenbaum). The song ended with a good rip on Buffalo. Man, I have got to find the lyrics to that song :-D

Good night, and I saved an RIT student from freezing her butt off. Good show, good deal.

 

Hosted by Diaryland